I was working on fixing a bug on the database for my client’s app on
a remote server. I called my client and asked them gin because if she
does the code will overwrite my changes in the database.
Me: Okay, I need to be clear. If you or anyone else in the company logs in to the server, the code will overwrite my changes in the database. So that means you need to tell everyone not to log in and refrain from doing so yourself.
Client: No problem, I’ll put the word out.
Me: Great. So everyone knows not to sign in until I give the all clear?
Client: Yep! They’ve been told.
Me: And you’re not going to, right?
I got to work, and after about an hour I noticed that some of my earlier changes had been reset.
Me: Hey, I noticed some of my changes were reverted. Has anyone
accessed the system in the past hour or so?
Client: No one but me has access.
Me: Then did YOU
sign in the past hour?
Client: In the past hour?
Client: I didn’t change anything, though.
Me: So you
actually have signed in?
Client: I don’t know.